North-east ploughers raise £500 for charities

Banff and Buchan Vintage Tractor and Engine Club held its annual ploughing match on Saturday, October 27, at Kirktown of Tyrie by kind permission of Mrs Elizabeth Pittendrigh.

Thursday, 1st November 2012, 4:00 am

The winter weather did not hold back the hardy ploughmen in their vintage and classic tractors, as the blustery showers blew past allowing everyone to enjoy their day in a little sunshine.

The ploughing was judged by Ian and James Daniel and the results were as follows:

Bill Gavin Cup for Best Double Furrow Ploughman: 1 Murray Littlejohn (Tyrie) - 127 points; 2 Derek Morrison (Sandhaven) - 111 points; 3Alistair Davidson (Crimond) – 90 points.

Single Furrow: 1 Rob Paterson (New Deer) - 127 points; 2 Andy Cheetham (Tyrie) - 99 points.

Eric Mallarkey Cup for Trailing Ploughs: 1 Doug Stewart (New Deer) - 145 points; 2 Raymond Turriff (Rora) – 108 points; 3 Jock Donald (Mintlaw) – 104 points.

Champion Overall Cup and the Cowie Sheild for the Best Opening went to Doug Stewart.

A. Cowie thought the outfit that he would most like to take home was a Zetor 4712 and Ransome Plough which is owned by Murray Littlejohn.

The proceeds from the refreshments and the raffle came to a total of £500 which will be divided equally between Poppy Scotland and MS Research Scotland, the charities nominated by Mrs Pittendrigh.

A big thank you is due to Gray and Adams, Fraserburgh, for their continued support, the many local companies that willingly donate raffles, and to the club members and friends that give of their time and talents to make the day a great success.