Bellslea S lift the league title

Fraserburgh & District Pool League 2010-2011 winter season came to a conclusion last Thursday (April 28) as the final matches were completed, out of the eight teams in the league seven reached cup finals with four different champions.

The league was won by the Bellslea S who only droped three points all season leaving the rest in their wake, runners up were the Bellslea. Bellslea S also lifted the League cup title defeating the Legion 8-3 in the final. However, the Legion were not to be denied as they won the Ko cup beating the Tufted duck 8-3 in the final. The Bellslea won the Charity shield when they beat the Ark 8-6 in the final. The team competition final saw the Elizabethan defeat the Bancar 8-6 in the final of the Consolation cup.

The individual trophies were equally exiting as a few have new names on them, none more than the biggest one of all the Broch singles, this season was won by the Legion’s Duncan Buchan when he defeated Sandy Anderson [Bellslea S] 6-2 in the final.

Doubles champions are Sandy Anderson and Thomas Bannon [Bellslea S] who beat team mates Jim Anderson and Kevin Gray 5-3 in the final. The Scotch doubles was won by Lee Bannerman and Kevin Ellis [Bellslea], who beat Barry Calder and Simon Donald [Bellslea S] 5-3 in the final.

Simon Donald [Bellslea S], is this year’s 1 frame champion with Duncan Buchan [Legion] as runner up. Triples champions are Jim Anderson,Barry Calder and Simon Donald [Bellslea S], and runners up are Allan Anderson, Dave Bisset and Neil Smith [Bellslea S] 3-2 the score in the final.

The under 25 singles was won by Thomas Bannon [Bellslea S] beating team mate Simon Donald 5-1 in the final. The 25-35 singles was won by Scott Stephen [Ark] beating Ally McCulloch [Bancar] 5-3 in the final. Over 35 singles was won by Ally Jackson [Ark] beating Neil Smith [Bellslea S] 5-3 in the final.

This season the player of the year was shared by Simon Donald [Bellslea S] and Kris Manett [Bellslea]. The most eight ball clearances was again won by Simon Donald with 11 for the season.

The final individual competition, the captain’s cup, was won by the Ark’s Scott Stephen when he defeated the Bancar’s Ally McCulloch 5-1 in the final.

This season’s trophy presentation will take place tonight Thursday May 5, in the Bellslea bar immediately after the final 50/50 draw of the season, which is at 7.40pm.

There will also be a 1 frame competition held after the trophy presentation.