Candidates revealed

LOCAL: Elections will take place on May 3, 2012.
LOCAL: Elections will take place on May 3, 2012.

A FINAL list of candidates standing in the forthcoming Aberdeenshire Council elections on May have been released.

In Fraserburgh and District (Ward 3), the candidates are:

Ann Bell (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Charles Cummin Buchan (SNP), George Esslemont (Independent), Doreen Mair (Independent), Ricky Sheaffe-Greene (SNP), Bob Sim (Scottish Conservative and Unionist), Ian Tait (Independent), Ashara Taylor (Scottish Labour Party), Brian Topping (SNP) and Michael Watt (Independent).

In Troup (Ward 2), the cadidates are:

Alan Duffill (Scottish Labour Party), John Duncan (Scottish Conservative and Unionist), Mark Findlater (Independent), Sandy Leslie (Scottish Liberal Democrats), Sydney Mair (Independent), Hamish Partridge (SNP), Bill Rebecca (Independent) and Bob Watson (SNP).

In Peterhead North & Rattray (Ward 5), the candidates are:

Anne Allan (SNP), Alan Buchan (Independent), Stephen Calder (Independent), Michael Doig (SNP), Sheena Drunsfield (Independent), Alan Gardiner (Independent), Fiona McRae (SNP), Thomas Phillips ( Scottish Labour Party) and Graeme Smith (Scottish Liberal Democrats).

The Fraserburgh Herald wants to play a lead role in presenting the views, achievements and hopes of all candidates in the weeks running up to May 3.

To that end we are inviting ALL candidates to submit a 150-word personal profile and a 300-word policy statement which will appear in the appropriate titles during April.

We would hope sitting councillors will provide an honest breakdown of their achievements over the last five years in office.

Information should be sent to