Council nominated

Aberdeenshire Council’s Infrastructure Services team is celebrating after making the shortlist in three categories of the 2012 Scottish Transport Awards for the fifth year in a row.

The council submitted various projects for consideration by the Scottish Transport Awards expert panel in January, and has now been shortlisted across the following categories:

• The Scottish Transport Local Authority of the Year

• Excellence in Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement

• Transport Team / Partnership of the Year.

The council’s short-listing as Transport Local Authority of the Year is the fifth year in succession it has been nominated for the award, including previous wins in 2008 and 2009.

The work undertaken by Aberdeenshire Council to improve road safety in the area forms the basis of the council’s short-listing in the Road Safety, Traffic Management and Enforcement category.

Through the promotion of road safety education, enforcement, engineering and engagement measures, the council has successfully supported a considerable reduction in accident levels. 2011 saw the total number of the injuries on the region’s roads decrease by 40% to 479, compared with the 2010 figure of 793.

The council’s partnership work with NHS Grampian, Nestrans and Sustrans through the North East health and transport action has also been recognised in the Transport Team / Partnership of the Year category, in particular the delivery of the Primary Lane foot and cycle path in Insch.

In addition, the council’s work with Nestrans, Aberdeen City Council and the Aberdeen City and Shire Strategic Development Plan Authority on the development of a Strategic Transport Fund has been recognised in two further categories - Integrated Transport Project of the Year and Innovative Transport Project of the Year.

The Scottish Transport Awards, which are now in their twelve year, showcase and celebrate the hard work of transportation officers throughout Scotland.

Winners will be announced at the Scottish Transport Awards ceremony on June 14 in Glasgow.

For full details on the 2012 Scottish Transport Awards, visit Aberdeenshire Council at: