First members appointed

THE first members of the new Scottish Police Authority (SPA) have been announced by Justice Secretary, Kenny MacAskill.

The members are Mairam Ali, Brian Barbour, Jeane Freeman, Graham Houston, David Hume, Morag McLaughlin, Paul Rooney, Ian Ross, Lisa Tennant, Iain Whyte, Robert Wilson and Douglas Yates.

All members have been appointed for four years.

Under the legislation the SPA may appoint up to two additional members in due course, taking the total to 14.

Mr MacAskill said: “The Scottish Police Authority will play a pivotal role in the new landscape.