Six candidates confirmed to contest Banffshire and Buchan Coast seat

Six candidates will contest the Banffshire and Buchan Coast seat in next month’s Scottish Parliament election.

By Kevin Mcroberts
Thursday, 1st April 2021, 8:45 am
Candidates have been declared ahead of the vote on May 6.

The seat was previously held by the SNP’s Stewart Stevenson.

The candidates are Karen Adam, Scottish National Party (SNP); Jason Duncan, Freedom Alliance– Integrity, Society, Economy; Mark Findlater, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party; David Philip McHutchon, Restore Scotland; Alison Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats; and Georgia Strachan, Scottish Labour Party.

Candidates for the North East Region list vote have also been confirmed as follows:

Abolish The Scottish Parliament Party – Callum Buchanan;

Alba Party – Alex Salmond, Heather McLean, Brian Topping, Dot Jessiman;

All For Unity – Arthur Keith, Scott Fenwick, Bobby Ferguson, Danielle Millar, Richard Kelbie, Ben Stones, John McPhee;

Freedom Alliance– Integrity, Society, Economy – Kirsty Isabel Miller, Jason Duncan, Diane Lesley Mathieson, Sadie Cubitt;

Independent Green Voice – Richard Tallach;

Reform UK – John Barclay Cox, James George Whitelaw, Greig Mair, Samantha Lee Evans, Carol Mitchell MacDonald;

Renew – Colin Alexander McFadyen;

Restore Scotland – David McHutchon, Ewan Gurr;

Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party – Liam Kerr, Alexander Burnett, Douglas Lumsden, Maurice Golden, Tess White, Gillian Tebberen, Stewart Whyte, Mark Findlater, Harriet Cross, Philip Scott, Mason McIlreavey, Alan Fakley;

Scottish Family Party – David Thomas Bestwick, John Mark Donaldson, William James Strachan, George Macleod Arthur, Shehla Noreen Arthur;

Scottish Green Party – Maggie Chapman, Guy Ingerson, Rachel Shanks, Lewis Leodhas, Sylvia Hardie, Peter Kennedy Bradley Booth;

Scottish Labour Party – Michael Marra, Mercedes Villalba, Barry Black, Lynn Thomson, Richard McCready, Georgia Strachan, Kamaal Bola, Heather Herbert, Owen Wright;

Scottish Liberal Democrats – Rosemary Bruce, John Robert McConnachie Waddell, Ben George Lawrie, Ian Yuill, Conrad James Wood, Isobel Davidson, Alison Mary Simpson, Michael Crichton;

Scottish Libertarian Party – Bryce Hope;

Scottish National Party (SNP) – Fatima Joji, Christian Allard, Fergus Mutch, William Duff, Nadia El-Nakla, John Cooke, Lynne Short, Gill Al-Samarai, Josh Mennie;

UK Independence Party (UKIP) – Duncan Odgers, David Mackay, William Morren, Gerald Haddrell, Albert Emery, Kathleen Rowham;

Individual regional candidates – Geoffrey Alexander Farquharson and Laura Marshall.

Further details on local arrangements for the Scottish Parliament election on Thursday, May 6, can be found at: