Vintage Tractor Club hosts annual ploughing match

The winners with their trophies
The winners with their trophies

The Banff and Buchan Vintage Tractor and Engine club held their annual ploughing match on Saturday, October 25 at Ladysford, New Aberdour by kind permission of Mr and Mrs J Davidson.

Mr and Mrs G Stephen, Stephensden, Lonmay very kindly donated cups to the club for the match.

Mrs Stephen’s grandfather was a champion plougher and she wanted the cups to be used again to encourage further generations to continue the tradition.

Their generosity was really appreciated and all the classes have now a trophy.

The judges for the day were James Daniel, Alex Mowatt, Robbie Clark and William Ross, and the prizes were presented by Alyx and Ava Davidson.

Results as follows:

The Bill Gavin Cup for Double Furrow Ploughman - 1 B. Milne, 2 D. Smith, 3 B. Robertson.

Cairnorchies Cup for Past Winners of the Double Furrow - 1 A. Davidson, 2 D. Gibb.

Eric Malarkey Cup for Trailers - 1 R. Turriff, 2 J. Donald.

Drinnie Cup for Single Furrow - 1 A. Cheetham, 2 R. Paterson, 3 T. Robertson.

Pitfour Cup for Reversible - 1 F. Smith.

Cowie Sheild for the Best Opening went to R. Turriff and the Keith Family Cup for the Best Finish went to A. Cheetham.

The Champion Ploughman overall and the Best Outfit were awarded to R. Turriff.

A total of £500 was raised from sales of refreshments and the raffle, and will be divided between Marie Curie and Parkinson’s which were the charities nominated by the Davidson family.

The organisers would like to say a big thank you to all of the companies and members that provided prizes and raffles.

They would also like to express a sincere thank you to friends and members that helped to make the day a big success.