Voting figures are released

Aberdeenshire Council has released figures showing the number of votes each candidate received in the May 3 local elections, indicating just how close the fight for one of four Fraserburgh and District seats was.

Returning Scottish National Party councillor Brian Topping led the poll, in which 37.88% of the electorate participated, taking the most votes of any candidate in the constituency with 1,056 - more than 350 votes ahead of his nearest rival in the poll.

New councillor and former Fraserburgh Academy physics teacher Charles Buchan, also SNP, was second with 704 votes.

Independent candidates and returning councillors Ian Tait and Michael Watt, who were each elected at stage nine, received 617 and 417 votes respectively.

Candidates just missing out on election included independent candidate Doreen Mair, with 371 votes, and Liberal Democrat candidate Ann Bell with 322 votes.

In Troup, where two long-serving councillors were not re-elected, the SNP again claimed the majority of the votes.

New councillor Hamish Partridge, SNP, was elected with 723 votes from the 2,842 valid papers cast.

Returning councillor John Duncan, Scottish Conservative and Unionist, was re-elected at stage seven with 593 votes.

Also elected at stage seven was new councillor Mark Findlater, independent, with 441 votes.

Former councillors Sydney Mair, independent, and Bob Watson, SNP, received 344 and 405 votes respectively.

There was a turnout of 37.35% for Troup.

In total, there were 4,277 valid papers in Fraserburgh and District, with 65 being rejected.

Meanwhile, there were 2,842 valid papers in Troup, with 37 being rejected.

A full list of the number of votes each candidate received is available to view online at Aberdeenshire Council’s website at

Similarly, contact details for all of the councillors in Fraseburgh and District and Troup can be found on Aberdeenshire Council’s website.

Returning and new councillors from both wards and the rest of Banff and Buchan met on Tuesday, May 22, for the first time as the new Area Committee.