Broch return to League duties

Both Fraserburgh and Kinnaird resume their Robertson Motors Grampian Super League duties this weekend with home fixtures.

Friday, 23rd March 2012, 8:54 am

Fraserburgh retain the same squad for their fixture against Mid Deeside in the Bellslea Bar, whilst Kinnaird add the experienced Ally Bruce to their squad for the home fixture against West Aberdeenshire at the Elizabethan.

Both sides will be looking for a vast improvement in form following their poor results in their latest matches, with Fraserburgh losing 6-4 at Turriff, and Kinnaird going down 8-2 at Inverurie.

Leading positions in the local averages list, with only two matches remaining are as follows: Jamie Hagen (FR) 27.74; Graham Whyte (KH) 26.63; Colin Robertson (FR) 26.60; Alan Smith (FR) 25.77; Scott Robertson (FR) 25.68; Charlie Simpson (FR) 25.48; Gary Hagen (FR) 25.46; Mike Forbes (FR) 25.43.

The top eight players at the end of the season will be granted seeding positions at the Super League singles finals.

Meanwhile, in the Fraserburgh and District Men’s Darts Association, the Knockout Cup final was played on Friday, March 16.

The Elizabethan ran out 7-5 winners against the Croft in a tightly fought contest.

The Croft’s S. Michie and A. Bruce both hit 180s on the night.

S. Logie of the Croft had the highest finish with 100.

S. Michie finished the quickest leg with 11DL, while Sct. Robertson (Elizabethan) finished with 13+17 DL, A. Bruce finished with 16DL, and D. Wade (Elizabethan) finished with 17DL.

Friday will see the conclusion of the darts year with all major competitions getting played to a finish, including the 100 Cup.

All players must be registered for 7:15pm for a 7:30pm start.

Ticket money must be paid on the night for the presentation night on April 6.

The draw for the night’s play is as follows:

Stu. Robertson (Croft) Vs. J. Whyte (RAFA), and Gary Hagen (TB) Vs. J. Fraser (Croft) in the Juniors draw.

Sct. Robertson (EL) Vs. V. Farquhar (EL), and A. Bird (CR) V. P. Mitchell (TB) in the Intermediate draw.

The Seniors draw will see A. Bruce (Croft) Vs. M. Forves (Croft), and R. Ewing (Croft) Vs. G. Milne (CR).

Doubles will be P. Mitchell and M. Kingham (TB) Vs. G. Whyte and I. Robertson (TB), and D. Ross and J. Guald (CR) Vs. G. Hagen and M. McBride (TB).

J. Pirie (BB) Vs. S. Michie (Croft), and Sct. Robertson Vs. S. Hastie (BC) will play as a result of the Singles draw.