Drivers enjoy ‘fun’ event for last race of the season at Boyndie circuit

With the championships decided and the trophies handed out, the last race meeting of the season was a fun meeting.

Some were trying out a change in class while others were just out for a bit of end of season fun. Damp cold conditions changed to a dry and sunny afternoon where all the drivers changed to slick tyres for the finals.

In the Honda Cadets, Ewan Johnston spun out at Moravian Corner, which left the Ewans of Cornhill kart of Jonathan Edwards to open up a huge gap to complete the perfect day with his fourth victory.

Ben Burnett slotted into second and finished ahead of Richie Matthew. Keirran Glen came home fourth ahead of Johnston.

Shaun Davidson took the early lead in the Junior Max and was never headed to take the victory. Robbie Souter came second in his first junior max race. Third home was Reece Gillan followed by Connor Matthew

In the Prokart B Final, Marcus Sutherland grabbed the lead from the outside of the front row from pole man Mathew McBride.

Strong start from Colin Cheesewright slotted into third and on lap two made it second the following tour. However two laps later Ross Raffan arrived on the scene and move into second on lap five. By this time Sutherland was well clear and took a comfortable victory.

Raffan took second ahead of Olly Waind and Steven Donald. Cheesewright came home fifth ahead of Jodie Smith and McBride.

Pole man and first time into seniors, Lewis Rae, was pushed wide on the first lap of the Senior Max. Ross Shearer, also first time in senior, grabbed the position and escaped from the pack to take the victory.

David Logan slotted into second ahead of Liam Ross, Neil McWilliam and Derek Strachan. Logan and Ross held their positions to finish second and third. McWilliam had problems on the closing laps and fell down the order.

This left Keiran Smart to pick up fourth followed home by Strachan and the recovering Rae. Derek Kinghorn shot off in the lead in the ICC (Gearbox) but a driving error in the Seafield Complex allowed both Bobby Davidson and John Robertson through.

Davidson opened a considerable gap and took the chequered flag. Kinghorn recovered to take second ahead of Robertson.

In the Prokart A Final Jack Gordon, with an extra fifteen kilos, was away in front of Ryan Cannon, Stuart Wyness, Darran Patrick and Grant Cheesewright.

Wyness was attacking to strongly into pit corner and spun off onto the grass. Cannon was closing in on Gordon during the latter stages but Gordon held on for the victory.

Patrick took third ahead of Cheesewright. Wyness recovered to fifth ahead of Connor Wilson and Brett Cowan.


Honda Cadets - 1 Jonathan Edwards (Cornhill), 2 Ben Burnett (Aberdeen), 3 Ritchie Matthew (Banff);

Junior Max - 1 Shaun Davidson (Longside), 2 Robbie Souter (Dyce), 3 Reece Gillan (Burnhervie).

Prokart B Final - 1 Marcus Sutherland (Mintlaw), 2 Ross Raffan (Macduff), 3 Olly Waind (Lossiemouth);

Senior Max - 1 Ross Shearer (Banff), 2 David Logan (Aberdeen), 3 Liam Ross (Inverurie);

ICC (Gearbox) - 1 Bobby Davidson (Longside), 2 Derek Kinghorn (Rothienorman), 3 John Robertson (Rothiemay);

Prokart A Final - 1 Jack Gordon (Whitecairns), 2 Ryan Cannon (Leven), 3 Darren Patrick (Ballater).

Cheryl Borton presented trophies in clubhouse.

Next race meeting takes place during March 2014.

See website: