Karting season begins again

The first round of the Boyndie Drome Open Challenge took place at the Banff circuit on Sunday, March 9.

Wednesday, 19th March 2014, 5:00 am
Trophy winners

Dry, still conditions greeted drivers on the day.

Honda Cadets:

From pole position, Abbie Munro led away followed by Craig Mann, Aidan Welch, Jonathan Edwards and Ben MacLeod.

Honda Cadets - Abbie Munro Leads

Munro soon opened up a gap and went onto take a comfortable victory. Early casualty was Edwards who retired because of a faulty engine mount on lap five.

Mann and Welch remained in close contention throughout the race. Welch made his move and got on the inside at Kevin’s Korner and the pair were side by side as they went through Shirlaw’s to the run down to pit corner.

However a back marker was on the outside of the track that thwarted Welch’s overtaking manoeuvre.

Mann won the sprint to the chequered flag. Ben McLeod came home fourth ahead of Logan Mann, Ben Burnett and Callum Meldrum.

Results: 1 Abbie Munro (Bonar Bridge), 2 Craig Mann (Aberdeen), 3 Aidan Welch (Banchory).

Junior Max:

After two false starts the front row was put to the back of the small grid.

This left Cameron McPhee on pole and Reece Gillan in second spot.

The third attempt was go and by start of the second lap at gate corner Shaun Davidson took the lead.

He soon opened a large gap before taking the victory.

McPhee was holding off Robbie Souter for the first seven laps. At Seafield Complex, Souter made a move to the inside and touched McPhee causing a half spin.

Souter moved to second and took the position at the chequered flag while McPhee caught the spin and came home third.

Gillan finished fourth with Conner Matthew, fifth.

Results: 1 Shaun Davidson (Longside), 2 Robbie Souter (Dyce), 3 Cameron McPhee (Inverurie).


The new blue livered prokarts were only in their second outing and Adrian Brodie convincingly won the B final.

The A final was to be a closely contested race throughout.

In the first lap there were three leaders and as they crossed the line for the first time it was Jack Gordon from Ryan Cannon, Mark Wyness, Stuart Wyness, Daniel Borton, Michael Ogilvie and Adrian Brodie.

By the end of lap two it had completely changed with Mark Wyness in front Borton, Gordon, Cannon and Brodie.

Stuart Wyness and Adrian Brodie had in incident and both dropped back.

As the race settled down the front five drew away from the pack.

Borton was leading on lap four but by lap six Wyness was back in front.

Cannon took the lead the following lap and held the position for victory.

Mark Wyness came home a close second from Daniel Borton, Jack Gordon and Michael Ogilvie.

There was a gap until sixth place Mathew McBride who was followed home by Andrew Cruickshank and Steven Donald.

Results: 1 Ryan Cannon (Leven), 2 Mark Wyness (Inverurie), 3 Daniel Borton (Ellon).

Senior Max:

The Senior Max final got under way and within two laps a light shower of rain made things greasy.

Pole man Tony Strachan, led away closely followed by Connor Wilson, Grant Cheesewright, Ross Shearer, Lewis Rae and Liam Souter.

Ross Shearer gained third place at the half way point and Strachan took the victory with Wilson second.

Shearer and Cheesewright were next up as Rae got the better of Souter on lap seven.

Kieran Smart came home seventh followed by Liam Ross.

Senior Max: 1 Tony Strachan (Newmacher), 2 Connor Wilson (Rothiemay), 3 Ross Shearer (Banff).

KZ1 (Gearbox):

Neil Anderson took the early lead from Derek Kinghorn and Ian Duncan, but Duncan moved to second on lap two.

Anderson spun in the Seafield Complex dropping him down the order.

Duncan took the lead and the victory.

Leon Beda closed on Derek Kinghorn but the latter held the position to take second with Beda taking third position.

Anderson recovered to fourth ahead of John Robertson.

Results: 1 Ian Duncan (Aberchirder), 2 Derek Kinghorn (Rothienorman), 3 Leon Beda (Coaltown of Balgonie).

Sheryl Borton presented trophies in clubhouse after the meeting.

Next race meeting takes place on Sunday, April 13, see www.grampiankartclub.com for more details.