Change up to Caledonia League structure

Fraserburgh Rugby Club
Fraserburgh Rugby Club

The Scottish Rugby Union (SRU) have released the fixtures for the coming season of club rugby action.

The governing body has decided to change up the structure of the Caledonia League divisions, in which Fraserburgh have competed for the past two years, after accepting two new teams into the fold.

Last year the Northern section was made of three leagues: BT Caledonia League North Division 1, Division 2 and Division 3.

Now, with the admittance of Huntly RFC and Aberdeen Wanderers 2nd XV the structure has been changed to : BT Caledonia League North Division 1, North Division 2 (East), North Division 2 (West), North Division 3 and Division 4.

The two new teams will enter into Division 4 alongside Dyce, Garioch 2nd XV, Kinloss Eagles and Mackie 2nd XV.

The purpose of this league is to be less strict on teams who are unable to field a team every week.

Despite finishing bottom of Caledonia North Division 3 last season, Fraserburgh have not been entered into the bottom league and will instead compete in North Division 3.

This means that for the first time there Broch Rugby Club will have to battle against the threat of relegation as the team that finished bottom will be demoted.

Competing in North Division 3 alongside Fraserburgh are local rivals Peterhead, Aberdeen University and University Medics, Gordonians 2nd XV, Aberdeenshire 3rd XV, North Scotland Police and Inverness Craig Dunain.

Fraserburgh’s first game of the new season will take place on Saturday, September 24, when the make the short trip to Catto Park, Peterhead, to face their local rivals.