Pupils’ behaviour at NASSA football tournament praised

Footballers from Fraserburgh Academy have been praised following their conduct at a major sporting event.

By The Newsroom
Saturday, 12th March 2011, 5:33 am

A group of 19 pupils represented the academy at the S1 North Aberdeenshire Schools Sports Association football tournament last week.

The event was held at the impressive Aberdeen Sports Village and organised by Murray Carnie of Mintlaw Academy.

Seven schools took part: Fraserburgh, Mintlaw, Ellon, Turriff, Ellon, Inverurie and Meldrum. The Fraserburgh boys got off to a good start with a 1-0 victory over Meldrum with Arron Gray scoring the only goal. They were defeated by Inverurie and Mintlaw, despite beating them 5-2 in the league the previous day.

Ellon beat the Broch boys 4-0 but the day ended on a high with a 4-1 victory over Turriff.

Goalscprers for Fraserburgh were from Kris Maitland (2), Marc Summers (1) and Paul Ritchie (1). Coach Gerard McCluskey commended the efforts of Broch goalkeeper Ewan Patterson by saying his performance was ‘exceptional’.

Fraserburgh Academy S1 line up: Marc Summers (C), Ewan Patterson, Owen Sutherland, Paul Ritchie, Dylan Will, Kris Maitland, Reece Taylor, John Cardno and Arron Gray.

The Broch girls were faced against local opposition, Mintlaw girls, and suffered a 3-1 defeat in their first game. Courtney Robinson scored for the Broch.

The game against Meldrum ended 0-0. Zoe Buchan played a great game in defence. Due to the lack of girls teams taking part, the Broch played Mintlaw again and lost 2-0. Kirsty Craighead produced a number of excellent saves.

The final game against Meldrum saw the Broch losing 3-1 despite them having lots of chances. Chelsea Duncan hit the post three times. Joanna Buchan and Yasmin McDonald played consistently well throughout the whole tournament.

Coach Lynn Jex told the Herald: “Despite the score lines, the girls played to the best of their ability and never gave up. This is the first time they have played as an S1 team as they are usually mixed in with the S2 and S3 girls. I am proud of how enthusiastic they were and they thoroughly enjoyed taking part,” she said.

Fraserburgh Academy S1 girls line up: Chelsea Duncan (c), Kirsty Craighead, Zoe Buchan, Joanna Buchan, Lynne-Marie West, Lara Reid, Sammy-Jo Grieve, Yasmin McDonald, Deanna Kewley and Courtney Robinson.

Winners of the S1 boys was Ellon Academy and Mintlaw Academy won the girls section.

“A special mention of thanks was made to two S4 Fraserburgh Academy pupils Daniel Cowie and Josh Scott for refereeing many of the games throughout the day.

The boys did an excellent job and Murray Carnie praised their professionalism,” added Mrs Jex.