Strichen Bowls Club’s season winners

Strichen Bowl Club have recently announced their season winners and runners-up, their season finishing for the winter break.

By The Newsroom
Friday, 5th October 2012, 8:39 am

After an exciting season of bowls, played under conditions which have affected many bowls clubs in Aberdeenshire, the winners of the Forman triples were announced as Craig Lyttel, Helen Mathieson and Bill Menzies. Runners-up were Jordan Duncan, Liz Inglis and Marry Innes.

Helen Massie and Gordon Thomson were runners-up to Charlie Stuart pairs winners Graham Johnston and Bill Menzies.

The Forman Cup for mixed pairs went to Bill Cormack and Helen Mathieson. Mary and Bill Menzies were second.

The White Horse pairs winners were Peter Davidson and Elsie Beagrie, Helen Massie and Bill Inglis finishing second.

The Philip Cup for ladies pairs went to Helen Massie and Nettie Robertson, Margaret Anderson and Mary Innes finishing as runners-up.

The Royal British Legion Trophy for mens two-bowl pairs this year went to Bill Cormack and Bill Inglis, Graham Johnston and Sinclair Robertson finishing as the runners-up.

The ladies version of this trophy, the McCombie Cup, went to Judeth Johnson and Nettie Robertson. Mary Menzies and Helen Mathieson were second.

The senior singles winner, receiving the Bremner Shield, was Bill Menzies. Bill Cormack was the runner-up.

The R. C. Smith Trophy for the mens singles winner went to Gordon Thomson, with Peter Davidson finishing

The ladies singles winner was Margaret Anderson, Mary Innes the runner-up.

The J. C. Park Trophy for the green champion went to Bill Menzies, Nettie Robertson the runner-up.

Meanwhile, Craig Coutts was crowned as the junior champion, Ewan Findlay the runner up, and Mary Innes won the Hat Night Trophy, Craig Coutts the runner-up.

Strichen Bowls Club this year also won the Boothby Cup with the team of Terry Barrow, Gordon Thomson, Bill Menzies and Bill Inglis.