Photographic Society returns

PRESIDENT: Andrew West will act as President for the Society.
PRESIDENT: Andrew West will act as President for the Society.

Fraserburgh Photographic Society held its AGM on Thursday, April 12.

Among the matters discussed, it was decided that the officers for the year 2012-2013 would be as follows:

President: Andrew West.

Vice President: Stanley Partridge.

Secretary/ Treasurer: Andrew West.

Competition Secretary (External): Stanley Partridge.

Competition Secretary (Internal): Paul Woodburn.

Committee member: Joe Watt.

Press Agent: Mike Chandler.

In addition to receiving the usual reports, there was a lively discussion about the programme for the coming year.

There will be a variety of activities ranging from members showing images to digital tutorials.

During the last year, these tutorials have focused on enhancing and manipulating images on a computer.

Next year, tutorial sessions will be about the ‘on camera’ aspects of taking photographs and will be useful for people just starting out with the hobby.

As usual, there will be monthly ‘open competitions’ with judges not only marking the photographs submitted, but giving advice on how they could be improved.

Trophies are presented to the members with the highest marks over the year.

It was agreed the scores for the print and themed competitions would be aggregated over the year with a trophy (donated by Vice President Stanley Partridge) presented to the overall winner.

The next meeting of the society is on Thursday, April 19, when they will be reviewing the images of Matt Johnstone.

Matt Johnstone is one of the Scottish Photographic Federation judges.

This will be followed on Thursday, April 26, by the ever popular Digital Imaging Tutorials given by Paul Woodburn.

New member are always welcome and further details can be found on the Fraseburgh Photographic Society’s website at